Latest News

House panel rejects ABS-CBN's 25-year franchise renewal bid

With 70 lawmakers voted on technical working group's (TWG) recommendations, 11 in favor of ABS-CBN's bid, two congressmen inhibited and 1 opted to abstain marked the denial of ABS-CBN's franchise application.

View Story: ABS-CBN President Carlo Katigbak issued statement after franchise denial

A total of 85 members casts their votes, composed of 46 members of the Committee on Legislative Franchises and 39 ex-officio members voted on the TWG recommendation. 

ABS-CBN can file a motion for recommendation. 

The vote came after the House legislative franchise and good government and public accountability committees held 13 hearings tackling various issues.

View Story: Celebrities reacts over ABS-CBN's franchise bid rejection

The National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) on May 5 issued cease and desist order following the expiration of ABS-CBN Corp. franchise.

The CDO covers 42 television stations operated by ABS-CBN across the country, including the main ABS-CBN Network, ABS-CBN Sports and Action, ten digital broadcast channels, 18 FM stations, and five AM stations.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Where In Bacolod Designed by Copyright © 2014

Powered by Blogger.