Latest News

UAAP Fencing Season 86 Heats Up: Juliana Gomez Secure 2nd Gold

The University of the Philippines (UP) continued their dominance in the UAAP Season 86 Women's Fencing competition after day two. Juliana Gomez emerged victorious in a thrilling 15-14 comeback win against De La Salle University's (DLSU) Cyrra Vergara in the epee individual finals. This victory mirrored their encounter in the Season 85 finals.


Adding to UP's lead was Angela Dayro, who secured a bronze medal in the sabre individual event. This, combined with the previous day's foil gold and bronze, solidified UP's position at the top of the leaderboard.


Meanwhile, University of the East (UE) relied on Queen Dalmacio's talent to maintain their second-place standing. Dalmacio, a two-time reigning MVP, successfully defended her sabre individual title against UST's Janna Catantan, mirroring her win from the previous season. Catantan's bronze medal placed UST in a tie with DLSU for third place.


DLSU's silver medal came from Vergara in the epee individual event, while Krups Edlinag secured a bronze in the same category. Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) also joined the medal table with Kaku Dela Serna clinching a bronze medal in the sabre individual event.


The men's fencing competition saw a shift in leadership. After the foil individual events, the 11-peat-seeking UE Red Warriors and De La Salle overtook UST in the overall rankings. Collei Felipe, the Season 85 MVP, retained his foil title with a decisive 15-8 win against his sparring partner, Robert Cabaero.


In the high school division, UE's Opao Catantan secured the gold medal in the sabre individual event, practically clinching the 13th Girls' title for her team. Catantan defeated fellow Junior Lady Warrior Adrienne Lising in a close 15-12 match.


The battle for second place in the high school girls' division continues. UST's Tuy sisters, Krystal and Kathleen, secured bronze medals in the sabre individual event. However, De La Salle Zobel remains firmly in second with their current 0-1-2 gold-silver-bronze medal tally.


The day's lone boys' event, the foil individual, saw Aubrey Fernandez and Nina Canlas from DLSZ claim the gold and silver medals, respectively. UST's Miyake Capina and Martina Vacay settled for bronze. De La Salle Zobel maintains their second-place position with a 0-1-2 medal tally, while UST holds on to third with three bronze medals. 


The Junior Warriors further extended their lead in the boys' division with Louis Shoemaker and James Lim securing a silver and bronze medal, respectively, in the foil individual event. UST's Angel Aberilla and Ateneo's Derek Perez rounded out the podium finishers for the day.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Where In Bacolod Privacy Policy ©

Theme images by Bim. Powered by Blogger.